2023 Michelson Postdoctoral Prize Lectureship Winner Julia Gehrlein, CERN, Geneva, Switzerland

2023 Michelson Postdoctoral Prize

Julia Gehrlein, PhD, CERN, Geneva, Switzerland

Julia Gehrlein, PhD, Department of Theoretical Physics, CERN, Geneva, Switzerland, has been named the winner of this year’s MICHELSON POSTDOCTORAL PRIZE, and will spend one week in residence during the week of September 18, 2023, on the Case Western Reserve University campus. This year marks the 25th annual MICHELSON POSTDOCTORAL PRIZE LECTURESHIP, awarded each year to a junior scholar active in any field of physics. As part of her residency, Dr. Gehrlein will deliver two (2) technical lectures and a colloquium.  The lectureship also carries an honorarium of $2,500 plus travel expenses.

Dr. Gehrlein’s fields of interest include Beyond the Standard Model Phenomenology, Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics, and Neutrino Physics. Details on the lectureship, including lecture and colloquium topics, locations, and times will be posted here soon. In the meantime, inquiries may be made to Prof. Kurt Hinterbichler at kurt.hinterbichler@case.edu.






Previous Prize Winners

Click here for abstracts of previous lectures.

1997: Thomas Walther

1998: Christopher A. Fuchs see also A Private View of Quantum Reality (Quanta Magazine)

1999: Joseph Mohr

2000: Keith Schwab

2001: Jonathan Feng

2002: Re’em Sari

2003: Brian DeMarco

2004: Karsten Heeger

2005: Yaroslav Tserkovnyak

2006: Nicole Bell

2007: Adam Bolton

2008: Roberto Trotta

2009: Jonathan Alwall

2010: David Hanneke

2011: Lindley Winslow

2012: Kin Fai Mak

2013: Wei-Cheng Lee

2014: Amar Vutha

2015: Michael Hatridge

2016: Lucile Savary

2017: Liang Wu

2018: Tim Linden

2019: Audrey Bienfait

2020: Thiebault Sohier