Administrative Faculty

Name Title Email Phone
Kathleen Kash Department Chair kathleen.kash@case.edu 216.368.4000
Corbin Covault Associate Chair corbin.covault@case.edu 216.368.4006
Gary S. Chottiner Director of Undergraduate Studies gsc2@case.edu 216.368.4024
Corbin Covault Director of Graduate Studies corbin.covault@case.edu 216.368.4006
Jesse Berezovsky Graduate Admissions admissions@phys.cwru.edu 216.368.4034
Harsh Mathur Michelson Postdoctoral Lectureship Prize harsh.mathur@case.edu 216.368.4009
Glenn Starkman CERCA Director gds6@case.edu 216.368.3660

Administrative Staff

Name Title Email Phone
Kimberly Chapple Department Coordinator kdc59@case.edu 216.368.4000
Edith “Betty” Gaffney Department Assistant & Graduate Coordinator  elg11@case.edu 216.368.2186
Kathleen Kjaglien  Department Administrator/Business Manager  kak58@case.edu 216.368.4004
Georgia Wilkens Physics Secretary IV gmw42@case.edu 216.368.8779

Faculty

Associate Professor
jesse.a.berezovsky@case.edu
216.368.4034
Distinguished University Professor and Institute Professor
robert.brown@case.edu
216.368.4010
Instructor
edward.caner@case.edu
216.368.3710
Professor
gary.chottiner@case.edu
216.368.4024
Senior Instructor
craig.copi@case.edu
216.368.8831
Professor
corbin.covault@case.edu
216.368.4006
Visiting Assistant Professor
Instructor
diana.driscoll@case.edu
216.368.8844
Assistant Professor
pxf112@case.edu
216-368-4011
Professor
xuan.gao@case.edu
216.368.4031
Assistant Professor
michael.hinczewski@case.edu
216.368.4240
Assistant Professor
kurt.hinterbichler@case.edu
216.368.3009
M. Roger Clapp University Professor and Chair Department of Physics
kathleen.kash@case.edu
216.368.4021
Instructor
peter.kernan@case.edu
216.368.4037
Assistant Professor
lydia.kisley@cwru.edu
Professor
walter.lambrecht@case.edu
216.368.6120
Visiting Professor
Professor
michael.martens@case.edu
216.368.4123
Professor
harsh.mathur@case.edu
216.368.4009
Associate Professor
benjamin.monreal@case.edu
216-368-0222
Professor
rolfe.petschek@case.edu
216.368.4035
Professor and Ohio Eminent Scholar in Condensed Matter Physics
charles.rosenblatt@case.edu
216.368.4125
Connecticut Professor
john.ruhl@case.edu
216.368.4049
Ambrose Swasey Professor of Physics
kenneth.singer@case.edu
216.368.4017
Distinguished University Professor
glenn.starkman@case.edu
216.368.3660
Professor and Ohio Research Scholar in Surfaces of Advanced Materials
giuseppe.strangi@case.edu
216.368.6918
Dean and Albert A. Michelson Professor in Physics
cyrus.taylor@case.edu
216.368.4413
Distinguished University Professor and Perkins Professor of Physics
philip.taylor@case.edu
216.368.4044
Associate Professor
idit.zehavi@case.edu
216-368-2813

Lecturer/RA/Postdoc Scholar

jbm120@case.edu

Rock

None

Name Email Office Phone
Elshad Allahyarov exa54@case.edu Rock 225H 216.368.4032
Tanvir Baig tnb@case.edu Rock 204 216.368.4010
James Bonifacio jjb239@case.edu Rock 202 216.368.4020
Sharmistha Chatterjee sxc1211@case.edu AW Smith 421/423  
Bob Deissler rjd42@case.edu Rock 101 216.368.4027
Tim Eagan tpe2@case.edu Viewray, Inc.  
Ittipon Fongkaew ixf41@case.edu Rock 102 216.368.2995
Laura Gladstone leg76@case.edu Rock 118

216.368.3289

Chieh-Wen Liu cxl1040@case.edu Rock 124

216.368.6178

Ina Martin ixm98@case.edu MORE Center Lab, White 616A-E

216.368.4007

216.368.1626

Laith Sabri lxs554@case.edu Rock 202 216.368.4020
Dmitry Skachkov dxs688@case.edu Rock 102  368-2995
Hua Xing xing.hua@case.edu AW Smith 7 216.368.4127

Emeriti

Perkins Professor Emeritus of Physics
beethoven@mailaps.org
Emeritus Professor of Physics
ajd3@case.edu
216.368.3586
Professor of Physics
def@case.edu
216.368.2615
Emeritus Professor of Physics
wjf@case.edu
216.368.4100
Emeritus Professor of Physics
klk3@case.edu
Emeritus Professor of Physics
kxr2@case.edu
Albert A. Michelson Professor of Physics
des3@case.edu
216.368.4013
Emeritus Professor of Physics
bxs2@case.edu
216.368.4036
Emeritus Professor of Physics
maddoggerel@gmail.com
Provost and University Vice President Emeritus, and Professor Emeritus of Physics
raz@case.edu

Adjunct, Secondary, Visiting and Research Faculty

Name Email Office Phone
James Andrews (Adjunct) jxa8@case.edu Youngstown State University 330.941.7108
Daniel Akerib (Adjunct) akerib@slac.stanford.edu SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, 2575 Sand Hill Road, MS 29, Menlo Park, CA 94025

650.926.4627

Fax: 650.926.8570

Pierre Carles (Adjunct) pierre.carles@upmc.fr Polytech Paris – UPMC, 4, pl. Jussieu, Paris 75252, France   
Claudia de Rham c.ed-rham@imperial.ac.uk Blackett Laboratory, Room 506, South Kensington Campus, Imperial College LONDON 44 (0)20 7594 7841
Jeffrey Dyck (Adjunct) jdyck@jcu.edu John Carroll University, Physics University Heights, OH 44118  216.397.4560 
Karsten Eggert (Adjunct) karsten.eggert@cern.ch 1211 Geneva CERN/PH Switzerland    
Roger H. French (Secondary) roger.french@case.edu Materials Science & Engineering, White Bldg., 536  216.368.3655 
Hiroyuki Fujita (Adjunct) hiroyuki.fujita@qualedyn.com Quality Electrodynamics (QED), 700 Beta Drive, Ste. 100 Mayfield Village, Ohio 44143   
Evalyn Gates (Adjunct) egates@cmnh.org Cleveland Museum of Natural History, 1 Wade Oval Dr., Clev., OH 44106  216.231.4600 ext.3230
John T. (Tom) Giblin (Adjunct) jtg61@case.edu Kenyon College Gambier, OH 43022 740.427.5997 
Mark A. Griswold (Secondary) mag46@case.edu Radiology Bolwell B-121 216.844.8085
Mark E. Haacke (Adjunct) nmrimaging@aol.com The MRI Institute for Biomedical Research 440 E Ferry St., Unit 2 Detroit, MI 48202  313.758.0065
Eckhard Jankowsky (Secondary) exj13@case.edu Ctr. for RNA Molecular Biology, SOM, Wood Building, W137 216.368.3336
Deaseung Kang (Adjunct) dkang@ssu.ac.kr Soongsil University Seoul, Korea   
Emmanuelle Lacaze (Adjunct) emmanuelle.lacaze@insp.jussieu.fr CNRS / Univ. Pierre & Marie Curie  
Earle R. Luck (Secondary) rel2@case.edu Sears/Astronomy 216.368.6697 
Stacy S. McGaugh (Secondary)   University of Michigan   
Christopher J. Mihos (Secondary) jcm9@case.edu Sears/Astronomy  216.368.3729 
Heather L. Morrison (Secondary) hlm5@case.edu Sears/Astronomy  216.368.6698 
Timothy Peshek (Adjunct)   eQED, LLC, 700 Beta Dr., Mayfield Village 44143  
Jie Shan (Adjunct) jus59@case.edu Penn State University, 0104 Davey Laboratory – University Park, University Park, PA 16802 814.865.7533
Irina Shiyanovskaya (Adjunct) ixs24@case.edu    
Shmaryu Shvartsman (Adjunct) sms25@case.edu
sshvartsman@viewray.com
ViewRay Inc., 2 Thermo Fisher Way, Oakwood Village, 44146 440.703.3210 X335 
Mano Singham (Adjunct) mxs24@case.edu Allen Memorial Library, #101 216.368.1224 
Thomas Shutt (Adjunct) shutt@slac.stanford.edu SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, 2575 Sand Hill Road, MS 29, Menlo Park, CA 94025

650.926.3709

Fax: 650.926.8570 

Andrew Tolley a.tolley@imperial.ac.uk Faculty of Natural Sciences, Blackett Laboratory, South Kensington Campus, Imperial College London 44 (0)20 7594 1526
Michael R. Thompson (Adjunct) mrt@case.edu Toshiba Medical Research Institute USA, Inc., 706 N Deerpath Drive Vernon Hills, IL 60061 216.385.5444
Mesfin Tsige (Adjunct) mtsige@uakron.edu U. of Akron – Dept. of Polymer Science, 302 E. Buchtel Ave., Akron, OH 44325 330.972.5631 

Staff

Skilled Trades Worker
richard.bihary@case.edu
216.368.3053
Department Secretary
216-368-4000
Manager of Engineering Services Workshop
salvatore.cordaro@case.edu
216.368.4019
Department Assistant
edith.gaffney@case.edu
216.368.2186
Manager
kathleen.kjaglien@case.edu
216.368.4004
Engineer
robert.sobin@case.edu
216.368.4359
Secretary
georgia.wilkins@case.edu
216.368.8779

Graduate Students

Name Email Office Phone
Shishir Adhikari shishir.adhikari@case.edu 225B  216.368.4002
Scott Akers scott.akers@case.edu Rock 114/117  
Rose Al Helo rose.alhelo3@case.edu NA NA
Robert Badea rxb230@case.edu AW Smith 07 216.368.8837
Bhumi Shankar Bhusal bhumi.bhusal@case.edu Rock 201D 216.368.8837
Jonathan Boyd jonathan.boyd@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Kyle Crowley kyle.crowley@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8838
Jennings “Tate” Deskins jennings.deskins@case.edu Rock 201F  
Mingdong Fan mingdong.fan@case.edu Rock 201E  
Andrew Ferris andrew.ferris@case.edu Rock 116/120  
Allen Foster allen.foster@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8838
Elliot Golias ebg23@case.edu    
Ian Gullett ixg90@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Ozenc Gungor ozenc.gungor@case.edu Rock 201C  
Robert Halliday robert.halliday@case.edu AW Smith 11/13 216.368.3632
Brian Holler bah117@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Shamreen Iram shamreen.iram@case.edu Rock 225B  
Dinushi Jayatunga bmj20@case.edu Off Campus  
Laura Johnson laura.johnson2@case.edu Rock 201F  
Grant Junno gtj4@case.edu Rock 11/27 216.368.2997
Milo Chi-Wen Korman milo.korman@case.edu Rock 114  
Arvind Shankar Kumar arvindshandar.kumar@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Saurabh Kumar saurabh.kumar@case.edu Rock 201A 216.368.8837
Ruihao Li rxl527@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Ryan Lorek rjl108@case.edu AW Smith 11 216.368.3632
Zijun Lu zxl220@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Sai Lyu sai.lyu@case.edu Rock 102 216.368.8837
Michael McMaster msm170@case.edu Rock 31 216.368.4023
Mahdi Mehrnia mahdi.mehrnia@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Bryce Murray bsm51@case.edu Rock 116/120 216.368.8837
Marcio O’Dwyer marcio.odwyer@case.edu Rock 201 216.368.8837
Klaountia Pasmatsiou klaountia.pasmatsiou@case.edu Rock 201 216.368.8837
Kyle Peters kyle.peters@case.edu Rock 31 216.368.4023
Kasun Premasiri kxn162@case.edu  AW Smith 419 216.368.2590 
Santosh Kumar Radha srr70@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Amol Ratnaparkhe axr524@case.edu Rock 201A  
Samuel Schwab samuel.schwab@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Jagit Sidhu jagitisingh.sidhu@case.edu Rock 201 216.368.8837
Yu-Hao Sun yu-hao.sun@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Adam Susser adam.susser@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Chi Tian chi.tian@case.edu Rock 201 216.368.8837
Jeremy Trimble jeremy.n.trimble@case.edu Rock 106 216.368.8837
Tenglong Wang tenglong.wang@case.edu Rock 225B  
Casey Weisenberger cmw76@case.edu Rock 225B  
Thomas Whitis tjw20@case.edu Off-site

216.368.4029

216.368.1365

Facilities

Name   Office Phone
Electronics Lab   Rock 316 216.368.2998
FAX   Rock 226 216.368.4671
Junior Lab   Rock 314 216.368.4042
Lounge-Conference Room   Rock 219A 216.368.4008
Foldy Conference Room   Rock221 216.368.4008
Physics Research Machine Shop   AW Smith 13/15/17/19 216.368.3053
Senior Lab   Rock 311 216.368.2353
Thin Films Lab   Rock 11/12 216.368.4215
Undergraduate Reading Room   Rock 308 216.368.2557
Undergraduate Lab   Rock 403 216.368.4139